top of page
Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurMathieu Baril

Fresh Start

Dernière mise à jour : 19 nov. 2019

“You will either step forward into growth or you will step back into safety” Abraham Maslow

I like this quote for multiple reasons. First of all, it tells you that sometimes, you need to take a step back to be able to feel safe and recharge. Abraham Maslow was an american psychologist who was best known to be the father of humanistic psychology. Humanistic psychology is a current of psychology based on a positive view of the human being. It emphasis on creativity, free will, and positive human potential. These last months, I did take a step back.


Why?


I’ve written this text about 2 months ago but was unable to publish it. Let’s say that my year 2019 has not been what I expected. It did start like if I was on the right path, to be honest. I started my program in entrepreneurship at the Stanford Graduate School of Business (I will talk about it in another article), got an offer for a new job as a Project Manager for Verb Surgical (a joint venture between Google and J&J), I was planning on moving with my girlfriend and I was motivated more than ever to start my company. Unfortunately, in february, my relationship ended and the people that know me, know that this is always a big deal.

Now, you must be wondering why am I writing about that? For two reasons, first she was my ghostwriter, so it was hard for me to post a new article for the first time without my ghostwriter. Secondly, my head was not there. I had to find a new place to live, I had to rebuild my self-confidence and I had to focus back on what I wanted. So, my blog was not my priority. To add on top of this, my new job was not really what I expected. I’m an entrepreneur and a company with a slow pace and a lot of politics is clearly not for me. I got to say that I have learnt a lot at my current position and like my dad always says :

”There is nothing for nothing in life”

or as american say :

”No pain, No gain!”.

Being a project manager for one of the top healthcare companies, added with the fact that it’s a joint venture between two of the biggest titans of the world, I have learned a lot.


What's next?


Now, after 6 months on idle, it’s time to start the engine back. I unfortunately didn’t read 30 books in my first years but I added a lot of books to my list. (link) I’ve also realise that when I started readvesting.com, the main reason was to get better at writing and putting it on pause will not help me. I’ve just finished 0 to 1 from Peter Thiel and expect to write the article by the end of the year. I’ve started to study for the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam (Article to come) and started to apply for analyst position at multiple VC firms. All that to give me a better chance at working in the fintech industry. I will start a new book soon and should be able to get my pace back.


Finally, I’ve started to kitesurf and if you ever want to join me, just let me know, it’s awesome. After all, I think I’m ready to take a step forward into growth.

10 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page