top of page
Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurMathieu Baril

Who, why, how and what?

Dernière mise à jour : 22 sept. 2018

Who am I, why did I started the Readvesting, how and what I'm gonna do.

Who am I?

I'm a 30 year old robotics engineer working in the Bay Area. I'm Canadian and my first language is French, so please bear with me if you see some mistakes in my posts. (I will also publish my website in French) I have been interested in economics for the last 5 years. Mainly because of the start of cryptocurrency. Technical analysis of cryptocurrency and understanding the fundamentals of it brought me to learn more about the traditional stock market. I started to read a lot of articles online and quickly realized that reading book lets you learn more because you read about more than just the things you search for. When you read a book, you learn things that you never thought could be related to the subject and that's why a book is powerful.


Why did I started Readvesting.com

While surfing the web, I found a new movement called FIRE. (I will do a post about it soon) This made me realize that it is possible for me to be financially independent pretty quickly. I've been able to move to the Bay Area after only working for 2 years in Montreal and the Bay Area is full of opportunities. And like Hugh Hefner use to said:


Life's too short to be living someone else's dream.

So I decided that by the age of 40, I will be financially independent (FIRE). I often say that I will retire by the age of 40 and people always look at me with big eyes. What I mean is that by the age of 40, I want to be able to do what I want, when I want and the way I want it. But to do so, I need to have an income to cover my expenses and this is where passive income comes in play.


How and what I'm gonna do.

There is plenty of information online on passive income but having too much information sometimes, is like not having enough. So this is why I will create a Summary of my learnings. Passive income is important to be FIRE, but you also need to figure out your plan for how you will live when you are FIRE. This is why I like to read books about investing but, also about society and how to be a better person. Books like "Homo Deus" ,"Sapiens" or "Are you indispensable?", can teach you many things about life and how the humans behave.


There is a trend right now about the fact that the average CEO reads up to 60 books a year. There are lot of articles about this. Some believe it's true, while others think it's just to sell you some tools to help you read more. I don't know if it's true or not but, I know that reading has helped me a lot in the last year. This is why I'm giving myself a goal for this upcoming year. I will read 30 books and I will write a post about all of them and what I have learned. I will have a list of the 30 books on my Summary page. The list will evolve and I'm more than happy to take your suggestions. Just post them into the comment section. From these 30 books, I will make my Principles evolve and make sure my plan for FIRE is on the good path. My plan will be available on my Investment page.


On that, I'm gonna go read some pages of my first book. Don't forget to subscribe for updates and leave books proposals in the comments.


75 vues0 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page